For anyone who knows me or has read my current blog/previous blog, you will know that I’m a writer.  Recently, I’ve let my writing slip a little.  The thing is, being a good writer comes with practice.  I don’t deny you have to be creative too but I just haven’t felt inspired to write anything lately.  I didn’t feel inspired to blog or to write anything worth reading.  I felt quite robotic in my writing.

Now it’s a new year, it’s important for me to find time to write again.  Even if this is simply digging out old writing and improving it – that’s fine.  I have quite a portfolio to work from. Even if I don’t necessarily feel inspired to write, I have so much material I could edit and improve so there is really no excuse not to make progress with my writing.

So, I was thinking about setting some writing goals for the year.  I don’t want to feel pressurised this year because I have a lot on but surely setting some goals couldn’t do any harm so that’s exactly what I’m going to do – you never know, it might help keep me motivated!

1# Firstly, I’m going to research and write a proposal for a possible PhD thesis.  I’m looking at politics and terrorism in an American Gothic fiction trilogy.  I hope to have a draft proposal written by mid-January.

2# I plan to improve my poetry.  I am co-teaching an Access English literature class and part of this is poetry.  I haven’t studied poetry for a while now and I tend to shy away from it.  I’ve bought some poetry books that contain works of Carol Ann Duffy and Ted Hughes so I’m going to refresh by reading through my old poetry, reading through my new books and writing some poetry in the essence of these poets.  I’m also going to practice analysing some of their work too! My main aim is to write some poetry in different styles and forms here.  I want to finish this by the middle of February.

typewriter-801921_640

3# I plan to submit two stories to the Mslexia Short Story Competition.  This year there is a Flash Fiction competition, up to 300 words and then another for the longer short story, 300-3000 words.  I want to submit a story to each of these categories and have to submit these by March 20th, 2017.

4# I want to write an academic blog for an academic Gothic site about child monsters in a specific Gothic text. Hopefully, this will be completed over the Easter break.

 

5# I’ve already discussed the novel I’m working on in a previous post from last week.  My writing goal is certainly to complete and to have edited my novel over the year for publishing towards the end of 2017 (or before if possible).  The first draft is to be ready by July!

If I can overcome this over the next 7 months then who knows what the rest of the year will have in store for me!

 

Do you have any writing goals this year? What is your ultimate writing goal? Do you have any words of wisdom for me? 

Leave a Reply

