Over the Christmas break, we went to see Rogue One: A Star Wars Story.  I hadn’t really looked into what the movie would be about and I assumed that it would be a continuation of The Force Awakens but it wasn’t, it bridged the gap between Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope. 

I missed the writing at the beginning due to toilet duty!  I don’t know if this actually gave any clue as to what Rogue One would be about and where it was placed within the Star Wars movies.  Obviously, when the film started and I saw Darth Vader, I felt very confused – why was he alive? Why was there another Darth Vader?  It was also jarring getting used to new characters, including a new protagonist yet again.  Maybe if I had done some research or paid attention before I watched the movie I would have felt less confused – this confused feeling was obviously down to me.  I kept wondering where Luke Skywalker was!

sabre-1087857_640

The story itself was great.  It was action packed.  Of course, we had the good versus evil battle as well as a back story of how the empire had hurt families with their dictatorship rules.  The ending was sad, and the death of Carrie Fisher over the Christmas period actually made that sadness worse!

Lucas didn’t disappoint at all.  As I’m dopey at times, it actually took me until the end of the film to realise that Rogue One was in fact, the gap between Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope.  I think I will actually have to watch it again when it’s on DVD to see if I missed anything.  I really enjoy sci-fi movies and we own all the Star Wars films on DVD so this was definitely a movie that I expected to enjoy.   Once I got over the initial shock of it not being as I expected, I did think the plotline and characters were strong and well-rounded – the force was with them!

 

Have you seen Rogue One? If so, what did you think? Did you know it was the gap between movie 3 and 4?

How do you feel when films aren’t what you expect, do you find it jarring?

darth-vader-1282288_640

Leave a Reply

