I’m briefly going to talk over our best buys for Christmas this year. It’s been quite successful this year and there was very little that I felt I had wasted my money on (thankfully).  I have children aged 11 (girl), 9 (boy), and 5 (boy) so I bought quite a wide range of gifts.  My daughter actually got a dressing table as her main present and my youngest son wanted wrestling figures and a ring.  The only major disappointment this year was for my 9-year-old son, and that was Skylanders Imaginators.  He collects Skylanders but this year he didn’t like the new game. He has played on it once which was a let down considering it was £50.  In previous years, I’ve had to prize him away from his PlayStation because he’s always loved Skylanders. My son doesn’t think that the latest game is as good as expected.chalk-board

Our top 5 favourites are… 

1# Easel and Chalk Board

This was a great choice for my five-year-old.  He actually asked for an easel because his friend has one but the chalkboard was an added bonus.  I got him a wooden one rather than a flimsy plastic character one and it has storage underneath.  It was around £60 but well worth the money.

air-hog-zero-gravity

2# Air Hog Zero Gravity cars

All three of my children asked for these.  My children are aged 5, 9 and 11.  I have a girl and two boys and all got pleasure from this gift.  At the price of £35 I didn’t think it was a bad price.  The only negative point is that it doesn’t climb up wallpaper, just smooth walls.  As our house has poor quality walls due to its age, most of the walls are papered with wallpaper and that means limited use.guitar

3# Electric Guitar with mini amp

My boys both asked for this gift.  The recommended age is
from age 6.  The mini amp is ideal as the lads can hook the amp over their body and
play, whilst carrying the amp.  It’s not too loud, but the sound is adjustable.  The lads have really enjoyed playing these and at £65, I can’t complain, especially if they want to play professionally.  Learning music is always an added bonus!monopoly-1356307_6404# Monopoly

Good old classic Monopoly is great as a family game.  Although it does seem to cause fighting if the children play this themselves.  They do love the game and what I like is the fact it promotes thinking skills, maths and reading.  A lot of enjoyment that can include the whole family having fun!  I do think it’s expensive now though ranging from around £20-25 but it is well used!newt-book

5# Newt Scamander’s scrapbook

My youngest son loves Fantastic Beasts and where to find them.  I found a scrapbook in WH Smiths for £15 that talks through the characters and beasts and provides cards and maps etc… You can work your way through Newt’s travels and learn further about the characters and the beasts he has in his suitcase.  It was a great addition to the film and really interesting! Another good buy as I don’t believe you can ever have too many books!

What were your best buys at Christmas? What did your children get the most enjoyment out of (usually mine get more enjoyment from the boxes but this year was more successful than usual)? Did you buy anything that was an absolute flop or waste of money? 

My Random Musings
4 thoughts on “Our Top 5 Favourite children’s Xmas Gifts from 2016

    1. I have no words to explain how awesome it is – it’s so well made and the storage underneath is great. It’s the most played with toy in our house at the moment. It’s really good quality. I could have picked up a plastic one for less that 1/4 of the price but I wanted the quality.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Like

  1. Great gifts – Monopoly is a must have it’s part of growing up! The easel looks fab too
    Thanks for linking up to #BloggerClubUK 🙂
    Debbie

    Like

Leave a Reply

